PayPal is introducing a £ 12 / 12 months payment for "inactive" accounts – act now to dodge it
How can I avoid the fee?
If you have a PayPal account but don't use it regularly, you can avoid the fee by simply logging into your account (or making a transaction) on or before December 15, 2020.
This means that you have been "active" for the past 12 months and therefore no fees will be charged.
If you are not using your PayPal account at this point and do not want to risk being charged in the future, you can simply close the account (once you are logged in, go to "Settings" and select "Close Account" & # 39 ; at the bottom of the & # 39; Account & # 39; tab – note however that you need to do this online as you cannot close accounts through the app).
You can also keep the account open, but transfer the money there to another account, as you will not be charged in the future if your PayPal account does not have an account balance. PayPal has no plans to close inactive accounts with no funds.
If you're an infrequent PayPal user and still want to keep your account open and have some PayPal credit on hand, it may be worthwhile to keep a note in your journal on a specific date each year to remind you to be with your Login account. This will ensure that you will not be charged the fee in the future.
PayPal also warns inactive customers that they may have to pay a fee by sending them notifications 60 days, 30 days, and then seven days before the fee is charged.