Vacationers from 22 international locations should face a resort quarantine

Boris Johnson spoke in the House of Commons today about British nationals and residents from South Africa, Portugal and countries in South America being affected (other travel from these countries has already been banned), although a full list of the 22 countries is yet to be revealed.

The arrangements for housing should be made "as soon as possible". Further details from the Department of Health and Social Affairs are expected next week. For more information on your rights to travel abroad and in the UK, please see our Coronavirus Travel Guide.

Travelers are picked up at airports and brought to quarantine in hotels

Travel from countries where there are concerns about coronavirus variants has already been banned, but the "managed isolation process" set out by the Prime Minister and Home Secretary today applies to UK nationals and residents who cannot be refused entry into the UK.

According to the new system, travelers from affected countries will be picked up at the airport and taken to hotels, where they can be quarantined for 10 days. Home Secretary Priti Patel said there would be no exceptions to this rule. We asked the government if travelers have to pay for their time in quarantine hotels and will update this story if we hear anything.

The Prime Minister added that the government will work with decentralized administrations in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland to ensure a UK approach.

Arrivals in England must have a coronavirus test prior to departure and self-isolate for 10 days when entering the country, regardless of where they came from. However, travelers can typically quarantine at home or where they live rather than in official accommodation.

You can also shorten this quarantine period by having a coronavirus test five days after your arrival. However, this is not possible if you have traveled from or through a country with a travel ban in the last 10 days.

Comments are closed.